Month: January 2008

  • Reflecting on Psalm 16:5-6

    She smiled to herself as she watched
    the pile of string grow ever higher in her lap.
    She worked steadily on large needles,
    slipping stitch by stitch the continental way.
    And her thoughts settled.
    She was at Peace —
    because “the lines for her had fallen in pleasant places” –
    and she was content.

    She reflected on the passage she had read earlier
    in the day and breathed in the goodness
    of her “inheritance” – the Lord Himself.
    Her portion and her cup were more than enough
    to fill the emptiness that tugged at her heart.

    She thought … “the Lord – the Creator of the Universe –
    who has made me Steward – Teacher – Mother – Sister - 
    of beautiful daughters,
    affectionate pets,
    loyal friends,
    a beautiful homeland and
    a home of my own –
    calls me his and fills my cup.
    He maintains my lot.
    I have no reason to fear or fret or dread.
    He knows the sparrows –
    of course He knows me.”


    She sighs deeply and drinks in the goodness
    of the morning spent at the Saviors table and rejoices –
    “Yes, I have a good inheritance.”

    And I am not alone.


    I am His.


    Amen.